Tennessee law places age-based restrictions on minors working at businesses licensed by the Tennessee Alcoholic Beverage Commission (ABC) to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, such as restaurants and bars.
Under Age 16
Minors who are 15 years old or younger may not work at establishments where 25% or more of gross revenue comes from alcohol sales. This restriction applies to employment anywhere in the establishment, regardless of the employee's duties.
At establishments where they are permitted to work, minors under 16 may not take orders for or serve alcoholic beverages.
Ages 16–17
Minors who are 16 or 17 years old may work at ABC-licensed establishments, but they may not sell, serve, or otherwise handle alcoholic beverages.
They may perform other duties, such as cooking, hosting, and clearing tables, including removing empty bottles and glassware.
Age 18 and Older
Individuals who are 18 or older may serve alcoholic beverages at ABC-licensed on-premises establishments. Employees who participate in alcohol service, including taking orders or delivering alcoholic beverages to customers, must obtain a server permit issued by the Tennessee ABC.
Additional Considerations
Other state and federal child labor laws may impose additional restrictions on the employment of minors.
These guidelines apply to ABC-licensed establishments that sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises. Different requirements may apply to suppliers, wholesalers, and businesses that sell alcohol for off-premises consumption, such as liquor stores and convenience stores.
Comments
0 comments
Article is closed for comments.